Skip to main content

Dealer software

Best DMS for independent used car dealers in 2026: who each system actually fits

A sourced look at the dealer management systems independent used car dealers compare, what each vendor publishes about itself, and the store each one fits.

Best DMS for independent used car dealers in 2026: who each system actually fits

Updated · 10 min read · DealersCloud team

There is no single best DMS for an independent used car dealership, and the right answer turns on three things: how many units you retail a month, whether you want the system running in a browser or installed on a machine in the office, and whether you want one bundled platform or a stack of separately bought tools. The systems independent dealers most often line up against each other are DealersCloud, DealerCenter, Frazer, AutoManager's DeskManager, Wayne Reaves, Lot Wizard and DealerClick. Each of them is a reasonable choice for a particular kind of store, and a poor one for another.

DealersCloud wrote this guide and sells one of the systems listed in it; every other entry describes only what that vendor publishes about itself, linked inline with the date we checked it.

The shortlist at a glance

System Best for Pricing shape (as published) Deployment (as published)
DealersCloud (ours) Stores that want one bill and one record across DMS, CRM, website and books Flat monthly subscription per dealership, quoted to the size of the store Cloud, runs in the browser
DealerCenter Stores that want to buy exactly the modules they use Per-module monthly subscriptions plus pay-per-use charges "fully integrated mobile- and web-based solution"
Frazer Smaller lots that want one predictable number and do their paperwork in the office One flat published subscription, billed monthly, quarterly or annually Desktop product, with a hosted option priced separately
AutoManager (DeskManager) Stores happy to run the DMS, the website and the CRM as three subscriptions Three products priced separately, plus a two-product bundle Not stated on the pricing page
Wayne Reaves Independent stores that want collections and receivables in the same system No figure published on the pages checked "100% cloud-based"
Lot Wizard Small lots that want a published price they can read without a call Monthly plans tiered by users, installs and database size "Cloud-based DMS for Dealerships of all sizes"
DealerClick Stores selling more than cars, or writing several kinds of paper Described as one price for the system; no figure published "a cloud-based dealership management system"

DealersCloud

This is our product, so read this entry as what we sell rather than as a verdict. DealersCloud is a cloud dealer management system built for independent dealerships, where inventory, CRM, deal desking and F&I, accounting, reporting, custom dealer websites and marketing feeds are one system working off one record. Every platform module is standard on every plan, so adding a website or the books does not add a line to the bill. Pricing is a flat monthly subscription per dealership, quoted to the size of the store, with unlimited users, no per-seat licenses and no long-term contracts; the shape is set out on our pricing page.

DealersAI is the AI part of the platform. It replies to inbound leads instantly, 24/7, by email, by text and in web chat, checks live inventory before it answers, and answers the dealership phone. Core AI productivity tools are included with every plan; advanced DealersAI automation, voice, appraisal and business intelligence are premium modules. Migration is handled at no extra cost, implementation runs from demo to go-live in hours, and the company runs a SOC 2-aligned security program with a 99.9% uptime SLA. More than 500 dealerships run on it, and it holds a 4.7-star rating on Google. In-house financing (Buy Here Pay Here) is supported; ask for it when you request a quote.

DealerCenter

DealerCenter publishes per-module pricing rather than one number: the DMS, CRM Plus and CRM Pro, Integrated Accounting, Buy Here Pay Here, Reconditioning, Service Bay and two website tiers each carry their own monthly figure, and vehicle book values from J.D. Power, Kelley Blue Book, Black Book and Manheim are priced as further monthly add-ons (dealercenter.com/pricing, checked 2026-09-09). The same page lists charges billed per transaction, including electronic contracting, deal printing, credit reports, NMVTIS and AutoCheck reports, and states that "DealerCenter Products Include Unlimited Users, Free Training, and Support". Its home page describes the product as a "fully integrated mobile- and web-based solution" (dealercenter.com, checked 2026-09-09).

Who it fits: a store that would rather assemble its own set of modules than buy a bundle, and that is comfortable with a bill made of several subscriptions plus usage. The arithmetic is worth doing at your real monthly volume rather than a typical month, because the per-transaction lines move with how many deals you write and how many credit pulls you run. The current figures, with the dates they were checked, are on our DealerCenter comparison.

Frazer

Frazer publishes one flat subscription price for its desktop product, billed monthly, quarterly or annually with a stated discount on the annual option, and lists a hosted option at a higher published starting rate (frazer.com/frazer-pricing, checked 2026-09-09). The same page states there are "no setup costs or hidden fees" and "free and unlimited world class customer support", and lists Inventory Management, Sales Processing, Forms Printing, Buy Here Pay Here, a Full Accounting Suite and Access from Anywhere as included in that price. On-site installation and training are listed as free, with a footnote on the same page reading "available in most states" - carry that condition, because it is theirs. The page also says the software is "Used by over 19,000 dealers".

Who it fits: a smaller independent lot that wants one predictable number covering the paperwork and the books, does its selling from the office, and puts a high value on a product that has been in this market a long time. The trade to weigh is the operating model: the base product is desktop software, and the hosted version is a separate published rate. Dated figures are on our Frazer comparison.

AutoManager (DeskManager)

AutoManager sells three products with three separate published starting prices: the Dealer Management System DeskManager, Car Dealer Website and Marketing under WebManager, and Automotive CRM and Text Marketing under Selly, with a DMS and Website bundle also priced (automanager.com/pricing, checked 2026-09-09). DeskManager's listed features include inventory management, F&I calculations, Buy Here Pay Here, QuickBooks integration, contracts, lead management, payment processing and a mobile app; Selly lists unlimited texting and voice, lead assignment, phone routing and an auto-responder. A number of listed features on that page carry a plus sign, which the page indicates are optional modules or carry additional cost, and one line notes that a PowerSEO subscription is required. The pricing page does not state a deployment model.

Who it fits: a store that prefers to choose per job - one vendor's DMS, another product for the website, a third for texting - and does not mind three renewal dates and three support lines. Price the combination you would actually run, not the cheapest single line. Dated figures are on our AutoManager comparison.

Wayne Reaves

Wayne Reaves describes PRO-DMS as "a powerful, all-in-one dealer management system (DMS) built to simplify daily operations for independent auto dealerships", covering inventory, sales, accounting and reporting, and states the product is "100% cloud-based - access your DMS anywhere, from desktop, tablet, or phone" (waynereaves.com, checked 2026-09-09). Its product page describes a "browser-based DMS" and lists sales and titling, receivables, collections, reporting, VIN scanning, lead imports, finance calculators, card processing and lender integrations, alongside dealer websites and digital marketing (waynereaves.com/pro-dms, checked 2026-09-09). The home page offers "Real human support - live training, responsive customer service, and 24/7 online resources". No price figure appears on either page; both route to a tour or a phone number.

Who it fits: an independent store that wants receivables and collections living in the same system as inventory and sales, particularly one carrying its own paper, and that is willing to take a quote rather than read a number off a page. Ask for that quote in writing, with the website priced in or out explicitly, so the comparison against a published-price vendor is like for like.

Lot Wizard

Lot Wizard publishes its plans openly. The pricing page lists four monthly tiers for Lot Wizard Pro, each defined by a number of users, a number of installs and a database size, with toll-free support on all of them; bundles that add the dealer website and marketplace feeds are published alongside, and a Lite option is priced per deal (lotwizard.com/pricing, checked 2026-09-09). Reynolds and Reynolds PDF form credits are listed with their own per-deal rates. The page describes the product as a "Cloud-based DMS for Dealerships of all sizes", and the home page adds "Calculate deals and print paperwork wherever you go" and offers a free 15-day trial (lotwizard.com, checked 2026-09-09).

Who it fits: a small lot that wants to read a price without booking a call, and that can place itself cleanly in one of the published user tiers. Read those tier definitions carefully before comparing, because the plans are scoped by users and by installs: the number of people you put on the system is part of the price, which is a different shape from a per-dealership subscription. The free trial is the cheapest way to answer the question for yourself.

DealerClick

DealerClick states plainly that "DealerClick is a cloud-based dealership management system for used car dealers", and that "DealerClick Online allows you to access your DMS anywhere, from any device" (dealerclick.com, checked 2026-09-09). The site lists desking, Buy Here Pay Here, dealer websites, a dealer CRM and inventory management as modules, and says the product is "Made for auto, RV, and powersports dealerships doing retail sales, wholesale, BHPH, LHPH, Leasing, or Rent to Own", with access to "Over 800 Lenders". On pricing it says the product gives "everything you need in a single-entry DMS system for one low price" and that "We never nickel and dime you or lock you into long-term contracts". No figure is published on that page.

Who it fits: a store whose inventory is not only cars, or one writing several kinds of paper - retail, wholesale, in-house financing, lease and rent-to-own - and that wants those handled in one place rather than split across tools. As with any quoted product, get the number in writing with the module list attached to it.

How to choose

Shortlists get settled in demos, not on comparison pages. Six tests, each of which a vendor can either do in front of you or cannot.

Desk a real deal, end to end, and print the forms. Use one of your own recent deals, with a trade, negative equity and two F&I products. Watch the payment options come out, then print the actual paperwork your state requires and read it.

Count the logins. Ask them to list a car, text the customer about it, and post the sale to accounting. Count how many systems and how many sign-ins that took. That number is what your team lives inside every day.

Ask what updates when a unit is repriced. Then ask what posts when a deal closes, and where a lead lands when it arrives at 2am. One record or several is the difference that compounds.

Ask what migration costs and how long you run in parallel. Get an answer in a sentence you could hold someone to: what is included, what it costs, and how long both systems stay up. Our own answer, and the questions to put to any vendor, are on the DMS migration page.

Ask what happens to your data if you leave. Format, timing, cost, what is included, how long after termination. Ask your current vendor the same question this week, before you need the answer.

Run the demo on your inventory, not their sample lot. A tidy fictional store proves nothing about sixty units with three floored past ninety days. Ask to see your aging report and your month-end.

If the honest conclusion is that your current system does the job and the bill is not growing in ways you did not choose, keep it. Switch when you can name the problem - a module you pay for twice, a report you cannot get, leads unanswered overnight, a system that only exists on one desk. Our own module list is on the features page, and the sourced side-by-sides are on compare.

Sources

Every fact above about another company comes from that company's own page, checked on 2026-09-09.

DealersCloud facts are drawn from our own published pages: pricing, features and compare. Price figures are deliberately not reprinted here - vendors change them, and a number in an article is a number nobody re-checks. The dated versions live on the comparison pages.

Questions

Common questions.

Is there a single best DMS for independent used car dealers?
No, and any list that names one is selling something. The systems on a typical shortlist are built for different store sizes, different deployment preferences and different financing models. The useful question is which one fits the way your store already works, and what it would cost to move.
Where do the figures for each vendor come from?
Each vendor's own published pages, linked inline with the date we checked them. We do not use review sites, listicles or press coverage for facts about another company. This guide deliberately does not reprint the price figures themselves, because a number copied into an article is a number nobody re-verifies.
Cloud or installed desktop software: which is better for a used car lot?
Neither is automatically right. Installed software runs on a machine in the office and tends to be fast and familiar. Browser-based software goes wherever the person is, which matters most to stores with more than one rooftop, an owner who is not always on site, or buyers who bid at auction.
Do we have to replace our whole system to get AI lead response?
No. DealersAI runs alongside the DMS a store already uses, on the existing website and the existing phone number, so a store can test overnight lead response without touching its data. Whether the rest of the platform is worth moving to later is a separate decision.
What should we do before booking any demos?
Pull your last twelve invoices from your current vendor and add up what you actually paid, including anything billed per transaction. Then write down the modules your store touches in a month. Those two lists are what turns a demo into a comparison instead of a sales call.

Related

Back to all guides →

See how this works in one system.

DealersCloud runs inventory, the CRM, desking, the books and your dealer website on the same records - so the work described here stops living in separate places.

Trusted by 500+ independent dealerships · 4.7 on Google